My old blog disappeared!!

I have some bad news for the WPF community.  :(

I discovered today that my old “Josh Smith on WPF” blog no longer exists.  That blog was hosted by my previous employer, Infusion Development, but suddenly just dropped off the Web.  At first I thought that maybe they tear down the blogs of employees that leave the firm.  But I looked into it and that is not the case.   For some reason, only my old blog has disappeared.

This really stinks because all of that content on my old blog is no longer available. It’s gone.  There was a lot of useful information on that blog.  I think that I might have back-ups of some of the old posts somewhere.  Hopefully I can dig them up and repost them.

I’ve sent some e-mails to people at Infusion, asking what happened to the old blog.  So far, nobody knows.  Hopefully this is just a temporary glitch and the blog will be revived sometime soon.  If the content still exists but they don’t want to host it anymore, I’ll bite the bullet and post the old content on my new blog…if they are willing to send me the files.

The lesson I learned from all of this is that you should never start a blog on your employer’s blog site, unless you intend on never leaving (or you’re employed by WordPress!).

6 Responses to My old blog disappeared!!

  1. Rocky Moore says:

    I tried the Wayback machine (archive.org), but it did not seem to cache on a current enough date to have your blog…

  2. John V says:

    It looks like Google has at least some of the pages cached (gotta love Google…).

    Search for ‘www.infusionblogs.com/blogs/jsmith’

  3. Josh Smith says:

    Thanks for looking into it guys! I didn’t think of looking for cached versions on the Web.🙂

    Josh

  4. Rob Zelt says:

    Josh, I was able to access everything back to Sept/06 from my feed history. Drop me an email if you would like it.

  5. Nish says:

    Like others have suggested, Google’s cache should be useful. Plus I have your blog entries from Nov 21-06 to Jan-28-07 when you changed blogs.

  6. Josh Smith says:

    Thanks a lot guys. I’m going to start reposting some choice content soon. Unfortunately my old blog’s content area (text column) was much wider than this blog’s content area. That means that this blog cannot show large code snippets like the old blog, so I’ll have to rewrite many of the posts…or turn them into CodeProject articles!😀

    Josh

