Review of Essential WPF

Recently I purchased and voraciously read Chris Anderson’s book “Essential Windows Presentation Foundation.”  Shortly after cracking it open for the first time I realized that this is a book which every WPF developer must read.  I highly recommend it.

Anderson was one of the chief architects on the WPF team at Microsoft.  He was involved with many design iterations of the platform over the course of several years.  As a result, the depth and insight into the platform which his book offers is truly astounding.  He does not only explain what you can do with WPF, but explains why the features of the platform were designed the way they were. 

Anderson will even discuss how some features were initially conceived but why the initial design did not work well, and how the final design overcomes those problems.  For example, the styling system in WPF initially used a miniature query language to specify how a style should be applied to elements in a UI.  He explains the shortcomings of that model and why the styling system we are all familiar with is better. That is priceless information for anyone who is serious about understanding the Windows Presentation Foundation.

Toward the beginning of the book Anderson lists the three overarching principles behind the design of WPF: element composition, rich content everywhere, and a simple programming model.  Throughout the rest of the book he demonstrates how the various functional areas in the platform adhere to those guiding principles.  Looking at the platform from that perspective clarified a lot of things for me.   I found it especially interesting how he discusses the command model as a means of simplifying the programming model of a composition-based architecture. 

In my review of “Windows Presentation Foundation Unleashed” I stated that “I just can’t go back to reading black-and-white books about WPF.”  I guess I was wrong!  The images in “Essential Windows Presentation Foundation” are black-and-white, but it didn’t bother me one bit.  Anderson’s book is not done any injustice by black-and-white images.  The content of the book is so interesting, and well presented, that the images were not very important to me.

I have only one qualm with Anderson’s book.  I was hoping that it would have an in-depth explanation of the Media Integration Layer (MIL).  There still seems to be a big gaping hole in general around this topic, not only in Anderson’s book.  It would have been great if he really dove deep into how drawing instructions are sent to the render thread, how changes to the visual tree are communicated to the MIL representation of the UI, how this works in a remote desktop scenario, etc.  Unfortunately I guess I’ll have to wait for someone else to demystify that topic.

To recap, I think that “Essential Windows Presentation Foundation” is a must-read for WPF developers.  Take my word for it, just buy the book and start reading it.

7 Responses to Review of Essential WPF

  1. Chris Khoo says:

    Hi Josh

    So if you were to recommend one, which one would it be (for first-time WPF book)?

    Why I ask is because Essential WPF sounds like it would interest me more than Unleashed, primarily because it sounds like much more of a deep dive into the rationale and language design behind XAML & WPF.

    Chris

  2. Josh Smith says:

    Chris,

    I think that your question answers itself.🙂

    If a deep dive into the rationale behind the platform excites you the most, then I recommend Essential WPF. If you are looking for more pragmatic/practical advice (with a healthy dose of high-level insights as well) then I would go with WPF Unleashed.

    Josh

  3. Chris Khoo says:

    Cool thanks – Essential WPF it is then🙂

    Chris

  4. Mike Brown says:

    Josh, good review of the book. I haven’t read it fully but that was the impression I got of it from the Preface, Foreword and Introduction. I’m reading Essential Windows Workflow Foundation right now…it’s an interesting book that also goes into the hows and whys of the platform. I can’t wait to rip into Essential WPF.

  5. Great article, Loved to read it. I too can recommend WPF unleashed and WPF essentials I’ve tried several others, but they lack the background information that tells you why it WPF exists today. I personally think this is important to understand why you should try WPF and not stick with Windows Forms alone anymore.

    Keep up the good work!

  6. Josh Smith says:

    Thanks Willem.😀

  7. […] The demo application associated with this post performs a fairly useless animation on the name of my favorite composer; Johann Sebastian Bach.  In a realistic setting you probably would not need to make Bach’s name wave up and down, and rotate in circles.  However it is conceivable that a user interface could benefit from employing the basic technique shown here.  I got the basic code sample for this demo app from Chris Anderson’s Essential Windows Presentation Foundation. […]

