An article about the WPF thought process

I just published an article entitled “The WPF Thought Process” on CodeProject. This article is different from all of my others because its primary focus is on the various thoughts that passed through my mind while implementing a feature, instead of just focusing on how it works. I hope that this article proves useful to people who are trying to get into WPF, but find the conceptual model a bit strange or confusing. The article walks you through various stages of figuring out how to design a ListBox with custom selection indicators. If you’re interested in reading it, here’s the link: http://www.codeproject.com/WPF/TheWpfThoughtProcess.asp

Enjoy!

5 Responses to An article about the WPF thought process

  1. […] Josh Smith and his awesome teaching and code provided the means for this control to be authored.  You can view Josh’s article here.  This control demonstrates how to listen in to what a child control is doing, attach events to the […]

  2. […] This control was inspired by Josh Smith and his awesome teaching and code provided the means for this control to be authored. You can view Josh’s article here. […]

  3. […] Josh Smith has posted an excellent article on the WPF Thought Process. […]

  4. Chris says:

    Halo Josh,

    You probably won’t read this comment unless you have notifications or something ON, but anyway just wanted to say thanks for this awesome WPF blog.
    Being stuck myself between choosing to continue with C++ or switch to C# (and WPF instead of Wxwidgets or something in C++), I think your blog has made a great impact on my decision to follow the WPF path.
    The only thing that I don’t like though, is the “chessy” (well just a bit) look of some of the applications you have exposed… I wish there was something like Sony Media Software’s products (they are in .NET IIRC, probably C#-based) entirely WPF based so you coudl really see the “potential”.

    Anyway thanks again Josh.

  5. Josh Smith says:

    Hey Chris,

    Thanks for the nice comment. I’m glad that my blog has piqued your interest in WPF, that’s really cool.

    Regarding the aesthetic appeal of my demos, well…I’m not going to spend time making them look pretty. I am more interested in showing how to do things in WPF, not how to make attractive UIs. WPF is great because it allows devs to focus on code, and visual designers to focus on UI.

    Thanks,
    Josh

