Woodstock is now more user-friendly

Last night Karl Shifflett gave me an excellent suggestion to improve the usability of Woodstock.  He pointed out that the UI can take a while to open up, which can make some people less inclined to use the tool.  I completely agree, so I took his advice and changed the order of things when the Woodstock window opens.  Now the Window immediately pops open and displays a fun little splash screen, while loading the visual tree data on a worker thread.  It makes the whole experience much more responsive.

I cleaned up the code a bit and added comments.   Also, I realized that the DataGridView’s row headers are not necessary for Woodstock, so I got rid of them.  Now the display area for data in the grid is a little better.

I can’t believe how much positive feedback, constructive criticism, and kudos I’ve received over the past few days.  It’s really amazing to see this kind of excitement in the WPF community!

5 Responses to Woodstock is now more user-friendly

  1. Rama Krishna says:

    I think the XAML Visualizer can also be merged with WoodStock. I intended to do something with visualizing the tree in my XAML Visualizer but did not get any time to do it.

  2. Josh Smith says:

    Hi Rama,

    Thanks! I’ll look into it. I’m not sure how it would work, probably just give XAML for the “initial” element (the one you inspected in the debugger). I’ll think about it and get back to you.

    Cheers,
    Josh

  3. Hi Josh,
    Why this version only shows the logical tree instead of full Visual Tree?
    In first version i was able to see all inner visuals while this one only shows the main elements (like VS 2008 document outline)

    Great work!

  4. Josh Smith says:

    Corrado,

    I’m not sure what you mean. I see the entire visual tree when I run it. Are you running the sample app attached to the article? If so, what are the first elements four elements in the tree?

    Thanks,
    Josh

  5. corradocavalli says:

    Hi Josh,
    My fault, i was trying to see some results just after InitializeComponent(), anyway on my installation the snaphot is alway empty (but not that I’m inside a VM and sometimes WPF has strange side effects when executed inside a VM)

    Your tool is very helpful!

