Enormous improvements to Woodstock

I solved the BIG problem in Woodstock today.

It dawned on me that I can lazily load the element property information and snapshot images, by having two-way conversations between the debugger and debuggee processes, just by using the standard Visualizer API! This means that the whole timeout problem is gone, because a huge amount of data is no longer being serialized all at once. And, this enabled me to add in support for viewing snapshot images of every element in the tree, not just the one you initially selected!!

I added a thorough explanation of how all this works to the article in the “Lazily Loading Element Information” subsection, under the “How It Works” section. I’m so glad that I finally resolved this crippling issue. Now Woodstock is a truly reliable, robust, fast, and dependable WPF debugging tool.

The only remaining issue that I know of is if you let it run for a long time. Eventually a RemotingException is thrown while some GDI+ code is executing, and the visualizer crashes. I don’t think there’s a way for me to work around that bug…

Go get it! http://www.codeproject.com/useritems/WoodstockForWPF.asp

5 Responses to Enormous improvements to Woodstock

  1. […] Shortly after I wrote this post I realized how to solve this problem without trying to resort to anything crazy like named pipes or writing files to disk (which didn’t work anyways).  To see how I overcame this problem, check out this post. […]

  2. marlongrech says:

    Hi, I downloaded the new version but I was not able to unzip the files. it was telling me corrupted files… Can you double check this? Thanks

  3. Josh Smith says:

    Marlon,

    The files unzip properly for me. I’m not sure why you’re having that issue.

    Josh

  4. Mike Brown says:

    Josh,
    Congratulations on finding the issue here. Sounds like you’ve got everything you need. I wanna be like you when I grow up.

  5. Josh Smith says:

    Hey Mike,

    Thanks for the feedback! I’ve got even more big improvements cooking now. Major performance enhancements…😉

    Thanks,
    Josh

