Woodstock runs in VS2008

As I’m sure you’ve already heard a thousand times in the past two days, Visual Studio 2008 has been officially released.  Accordingly, Woodstock had to be recompiled against the RTM build, because the Microsoft.VisualStudio.DebuggerVisualizers.dll assembly changed between Beta 2 and RTM.  I dropped the latest build on CodeProject.

A couple of guys actually complained to me about the fact that I used an image of Woodstock from the Peanuts web site, saying that it’s “deplorable” and such.  One guy even threatened to report my “crime” to whoever officially owns that image, so that they can sue me.  To avoid having those wonderful, fun, cheerful folks lose any more sleep, I removed the image.  To be honest with you, it never even crossed my  mind that there might be a legal problem with using a picture of Woodstock that I got from a Web site.

You can get the latest bits here: http://www.codeproject.com/useritems/WoodstockForWPF.asp

8 Responses to Woodstock runs in VS2008

  1. Karl Shifflett says:

    Yea,

    Like promoting Woodstock is somehow a bad thing that will lead to the demise of an entire generation of young people. Give me a break.

    We love WOODSTOCK!

    Did the icon police come out too??

  2. Ben Vanik says:

    Wow, that’s just weird. Some people have way too much time on their hands😉

    Great work! I just installed VS2008 RTM and saw this post come up. Can’t wait to try it!

  3. Josh Smith says:

    Karl,

    I agree, those people need to get a life.

    The icon of Woodstock came from a different Web site, where some guy created a bunch of Peanut icons and said that anyone can use them for anything.

    Josh

  4. Karl Shifflett says:

    Great CYA for those other …..

    BTW: Lucy changed her name to Mole.

  5. That’s insane that such people would whine so much. It’s a damn picture. Sweet Lord…

    Cool tool, Josh. Thanks for the excellent contribution.

  6. Josh Smith says:

    Ben,
    Thanks! Enjoy it.

    Judah,
    I agree it’s insane, but what really blew me away was when the second guy literally threatened to report my “crime” so that I’d get sued. That’s just plain evil!

    Josh

  7. Allan says:

    Here is a brief on image copyright of woodstock http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:Meet_woodstock_big.gif

    Might help if you still want to use the image. But i agree they need to get a life. The tool can’t be faulted though, thanks for your efforts.

  8. Josh Smith says:

    Thanks Allan. I’d rather not take any unnecessary risks. Being sued over using a picture of Woodstock is not something I want to risk.

