Introducing Podder: the WPF podcast player

[EDIT] The beta of Podder v2 is available for download here. [/EDIT]

My blog has been dormant for a while, but I have not. In fact, my obsessive-compulsive workaholic tendencies have completely taken over. I have spent the past two weeks working away on my latest and greatest project, a WPF podcast player application. Ladies and gentlemen, I give you Podder:

Podder [Screenshot]

I am going to write a series of articles on CodeProject which explore various aspects Podder’s design and implementation. Tonight I wrote the first article in that series, which simply introduces the application and explains what the rest of the series will entail. I am extremely excited about this project and feel that it is the best work I have ever done in WPF.

If you are interested in checking out what I’ve been up to, here is the first article in my new series:

http://www.codeproject.com/KB/WPF/podder1.aspx

Have fun!

8 Responses to Introducing Podder: the WPF podcast player

  1. I’m really excited to here about your MVC implementation in WPF. I’ve been curious about what that would look like…

  2. Josh Smith says:

    Ryan,

    I’m excited about it too. I’m going to write an article about the usage of MVC once I have created a new skin for the app, and have added in support for switching skins dynamically.

    Thanks,
    Josh

  3. Simon says:

    Nice work Josh! Great functionality which often seems to lack in WPF samples🙂 (if this qualifies as a sample might be up for discussion since this is more of a full-blown app).
    If you´re making the application skinnable, wouldn´t it be great to have some _real_ designers to the work… like through a competition or something?
    I really agree with Natan Dunlaps post about kaxaml and how WPF samples often demo nice features, but rarely demo nice design! Like Natan said.. “Practice what you preach”(not that you personally has been preaching, but the whole WPF platform.
    Don´t take this like a personal onslaught of your designcapabilities!

    Once again, Good work!🙂
    /Simon

  4. Karl Shifflett says:

    Another great series for WPF’ers!

    Thanks for all the hard work Josh (Mr. WPF, Mr. Mole, Mr. Podder)

    Cheers,

    Karl

  5. sacha barber says:

    Josh

    I have just downloaded and looked at the full source code for this at codeproject.

    It looks great, I especially like the way the commands are wired up to the controller and swap out the mainWindow.Content with whatever user control the new view should be.

    Very clever stuff. But then I would not expect anything else from you.

    Again you are the man.

    Great work, ill shall still read all these series of articles, as I think it will be very very interesting.

  6. Josh Smith says:

    Simon,

    I completely agree that Podder needs the magic touch of a visual designer. Unfortunately, I do not have those skills. I’ll think about your input. Thanks.

    Karl,

    It’s my pleasure!

    Sacha,

    I can see that you’ve started to really investigate how the app works. I’ll be interested to see what you discover and what questions you might have. Keep it up!

    Thanks,
    Josh

  7. […] put together a nice WPF podcast player application called Podder. Overview and source over at the Code […]

  8. […] Tipton on February 10, 2008 Josh Smith has written a great WPF podcatcher application called Podder.  I have really enjoyed playing around with the application.  I next intend to read […]

