Bach by popular demand

I meet a lot of people who are into WPF.  It’s funny how many of them are interested in the fact that I play Johann Sebastian Bach‘s keyboard music on the piano.  Bach has been an obsession of mine since I was a little kid.  I’ve been playing the piano since I was five years old, and have been in love with Bach’s music since around then.

Quite a few people have asked me to send them a recording of me playing a Bach piece.  I have a Yamaha Clavinova CLP 240, which is a fantastic digital grand piano.  Recently I realized that I can create semi-decent recordings of me playing the piano and then save them as MP3 files.  So I decided to satisfy the curiosity of all those people who, for whatever strange reason, want to hear me play some Bach.

I wish I had more time to practice the piano, but being obsessed with WPF kinda gets in the way.  The performance is pretty good, but there are definitely things about it I would like to improve.  Unfortunately I’m not sophisticated enough at this stuff to figure out how to edit the audio file. ;)  Alright, enough excuses for my shortcomings.  Here is a recording of me playing the Rondeaux from Bach’s second keyboard partita, in C minor: Rondeaux in C minor (as played by Josh)

Enjoy!

8 Responses to Bach by popular demand

  1. Karl Shifflett says:

    Rock Star,

    You are The Keyboard Man!!!

    Karl

  2. Josh Smith says:

    You’re right, all of my passions involve keyboards!😀

  3. Cornel says:

    Nice keyboard. Unfortunately my passion is guitar😀

    Applauses for the play!

    Cornel

  4. Josh Smith says:

    Thanks Cornel. I played guitar for years, but decided to focus all of my music-time on piano. Do you play classical guitar, rock guitar, blues, etc?

  5. Cornel says:

    I play electro acoustic guitar.
    In my case is exactly the opposite🙂. I started with piano and focused on guitar.

    Upload some videos on Youtube with you playing on piano :))

    Cornel

  6. Josh Smith says:

    It’s not quite the opposite, Cornel. I started with piano, drifted away to the guitar, then came back to the piano later on.

    Now they want videos! Geesh!😀

  7. Judah says:

    Hey, that’s excellent, Josh. It sounded beautiful.

    I play the guitar as well, classic, yet I’ve always wanted to learn the piano.

    To add to the insane demands, in addition to videos of you playing the piano, how about a WPF 3d scene showing you playing the piano in 3d?

    Hahah, just kidding. Still, that would be a cool project, you must admit.😉

  8. Josh Smith says:

    Holy smokes, Judah! Now that is a tall order!

    Thanks for the compliment.🙂

