Watch my presentation at the WPF Bootcamp 2008

A few months ago I flew out to Redmond so that I could speak at Microsoft’s WPF Bootcamp.  I gave a presentation about implementing the Model-View-Whatever pattern in WPF, which was received very well by the attendees.  After giving that presentation I solidified the material into my ‘Using MVC to Unit Test WPF Applications‘ article on CodeProject.  This seminal work is the foundation of the structural skinning architecture seen in Podder.

The entire WPF Bootcamp 2008 was videotaped and recently published online.  Karsten announced it a few days ago in this post.  All of the videos and associated downloads are hosted in a Silverlight application (of course), which you can view hereNOTE: That page comes up empty for me in FireFox, so be sure to open in it Internet Explorer.

You can find my presentation under Day 3.  It is called “Hello, Real World!” and runs for about one hour.  I highly suggest you check out some of the other presentations, too.  There were many interesting things discussed during the bootcamp.

In case you want to download the entire video file,which is quite large, you can grab them individually from this page.  My video is around 330MB so it might take a while to download it, but if you’re just dying to fill up that new external hard drive… 🙂

6 Responses to Watch my presentation at the WPF Bootcamp 2008

  1. Richard Thomas says:

    Hello Josh,

    Unfortunately, http://www.visitmix.com/university/wpf/bc08/ comes up empty for me in IE7 as well.

    Rich

  2. Josh Smith says:

    Rich,

    That stinks. 😦 Perhaps you might want to try downloading the video file, and then watching it. In this blog post, I provide a link to the page where you can download the video directly.

    Thanks,
    Josh

  3. I wish that we could have used BitTorrent for this. Let everyone help everyone.

  4. Josh Smith says:

    Stephen,

    I agree. It’s too bad that these videos are not easy to gain access to. I had problems, people leaving comments on Karsten’s blog post had problems, and others seem to be facing issues too. What a shame, since those videos contain a lot of great content.

    Josh

  5. Hi — The first version of the app was kinda buggy (isn’t v1 usually like that?) but since then I’ve fixed it and it should work in Firefox, IE, Safari, etc. I also created another page if you just want the links:

    http://www.visitmix.com/university/wpf/bc08/links.htm

  6. Josh Smith says:

    Thanks a lot, Karsten.

