My first article in MSDN Magazine

The July 2008 issue of Microsoft’s MSDN Magazine contains an article I wrote about WPF data binding. The article is called “Customize Data Display with Data Binding and WPF“.  It covers a wide range of data binding techniques that real applications use all the time, from working with hierarchical data sources to input validation.  It even has a Virtual Lab, so you can get your hands dirty with source code while reading the article.  I think the article turned out very well, and hope that you agree!

This is the first time I was paid to write about WPF, and, in the words of Lloyd Christmas, “I like it…I like it a lot!”  :D

Link: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/magazine/cc700358.aspx

21 Responses to My first article in MSDN Magazine

  1. Waiting for it on my mailbox! :-)
    Always better Josh

  2. Josh Smith says:

    Thank you, sir! 8)

  3. judahgabriel says:

    I was wondering when Microsoft would tap the WPF knowledge of Josh Smith.

    How long before we see you on the WPF team at Microsoft, Josh? ;-)

  4. Josh Smith says:

    Judah – I have no plans to join the Mothership any time soon. :)

    Ed – Thanks buddy!

  5. Rudi Grobler says:

    Hi Josh…

    Excellent article!!!

    Regards,

    Rudi Grobler

  6. Sarath C says:

    Kudos to you

  7. Josh Smith says:

    Thanks Rudi and Sarath.

  8. you should write more articles on such magazines. All those yours are worth paying!! But don’t leave us alone in the CodeProject land though. :D

  9. Josh Smith says:

    Thanks Quang. Don’t worry, I won’t be leaving CP land any time soon.

  10. John V says:

    Congratulations! It’s about time you got some coin for helping out all of us down in the trenches…. Can’t wait for the book!

  11. peteohanlon says:

    Cool – I get to tell people that I knew you before you were elevated. Woo hoo.

  12. Devin says:

    The Lloyd Christmas reference is classic….

  13. Josh Smith says:

    Yeah, Lloyd was classic the moment he hit the big screen!! :D

    I’ve been watching Dumb and Dumber recently. I can’t get enough. The movie’s title does it such injustice, regardless of how accurate it is!

    Josh

  14. David Cuccia says:

    Great article, Josh. Really like the way you evolved the story. And by showing XML and POCO binding side-by-side, you both reach a large audience and highlight various subtleties and capabilities of the XAML language.

  15. Josh Smith says:

    Thanks a lot for the nice feedback, David. Most appreciated. I’m glad you enjoyed the article.

  16. Jonah Simpson says:

    Big gulps eh? Well, see ya later!

  17. Josh Smith says:

    LOL! Classic quote! :D

  18. [...] My first article in MSDN Magazine [...]

  19. Ravi says:

    Congrats Josh! you deserve more articles on MSDN. Also, congrats on the 50 articles milestone. Keep it going.

  20. Josh Smith says:

    Thanks Ravi! :D

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 274 other followers

