My Blog Hibernation Is Coming To An End

My blog has been pretty quiet recently.  I have received some e-mails from folks, asking if I’ve thrown in the towel, or if I’m alive, etc.  Let me just clear the air…

Over the past couple of months, I have not been able to write much.  My job has been keeping me very busy, we went to Hawaii for a while, I hit a rough patch in my personal life, and I got sucked deeply into some great books about American history.  Add all of that together, and there’s very little time left for WPF blogging, unfortunately.

While at a bar out in Hawaii, one of my readers recognized me from his table and we ended up having a great conversation.  That was really cool!  Tony and I were talking about lots of interesting things.  At the end of the conversation he pointed out that I haven’t been blogging much recently.  When a stranger you meet on vacation points out that you haven’t been blogging much, you know something is wrong! 😀

So, with that said, I just want to let you know that I’m excited to start cranking out more content right here!  Stay tuned…

By the way, our trip to Hawaii was fantastic. If you have never been there, I highly suggest it!  Here’s a picture of my girlfriend and me enjoying the warm winter sun of Oahu.

beachy_small

Aloha!

14 Responses to My Blog Hibernation Is Coming To An End

  1. That is really cool – getting spotted by a fan of your blog in real life!

    Welcome back.

  2. Josh Smith says:

    Thanks Colin. I must admit, I was pretty drunk at the time I met him, so hopefully I didn’t make a bad impression. 🙂

  3. Chris says:

    Welcome back Josh! I’ve been following your WPF blog and CodeProject articles since day one. I really enjoyed your recent MSDN article and I have been spending my spare time going through the sample demo. It’s true, I think, after awhile, readers tend to take the wealth of information we find in blogs for granted … yours is the best WPF blog, in my opinion, since it “always” makes me think of things that are possible and different ways to accomplish them. A couple of years back I was on a WPF dev team and we were all inexperienced with WPF … your blog and articles and Adam Nathan’s book were some of the best references we had🙂

    Chris

  4. Josh Smith says:

    I’m really glad to know that, Chris. Thanks a lot!

  5. Chris says:

    No, thank you Josh! Although, I always felt like I was playing “catch up” with all the new ideas and topics you have discussed. In the end I was inspired to stick with WPF and to see it as a creative outlet. So much so that I have been working on a commercial product, that is written in WPF / C#, for the past year. Have you given thought to writing a book? You’ve got the gift.

    Chris

  6. Josh Smith says:

    Chris,

    WPF is a great creative outlet, for sure! It’s flexible and granular enough to allow you to be innovative without battling (too many) inane details.

    I had a book contract once, but decided against it. The terms were definitely not favorable for me, and I decided that life is too short to spend months working on a book that I don’t *really* want to write.

    I find that writing articles and blog posts allows me to satisfy my desire to write, and does not become a regrettable burden. Knowing that others actually enjoy reading what I write is a huge bonus! 8)

    Thanks Chris.

  7. Quang, Tran Minh says:

    Hi Josh,
    Though at the moment I don’t use/learn WPF that much as before since my WPF project was finished, I still take a look at your blog sometimes. I’m still a student doing my internship. Many techniques I used in that project came from your articles!! (especially the article about using MVVM for TreeView). I did a presentation about MVVM at my company and made a small advertisement about your blog / articles ^^.

    Nice to see your photo with your girl friend and wish you all the best for your life. You deserve it for all your amazing efforts:).

  8. Josh Smith says:

    Glad to hear it, Quang! 🙂

  9. Pramod.P.V says:

    Hi Josh,
    Nice to hear u are gonna come back to guide us thru the wpf world. I check the activities on your blog through the Rss feed on outlook, and if it were not for Sacha then ur hibernation would have made me think my outlook had gone buggy as some of my applications..🙂

    Expecting a blog that makes up for these gap..🙂..

  10. Sandeep says:

    Hi Josh,

    Your blog is like a guiding light to me.. It inspires me a lot, I have learnt a lot from you. Keep up the great work…

  11. peteohanlon says:

    It’s good to see the RockStar back at the helm.

  12. Tony says:

    Hi! I would like that you put an article on how can i do a table + repeater.
    In ASP.Net when i wanted a grid, with check box, textbox, label on the rows, i created a table, then put it inside a repeater, with the header being the table tag (and border=”1″), and the repeater items the table row with the tr and td´s with the controls inside it.
    and at the footer the /table.

    I searched web and came with a itemscontrol as substitute to repeater. but i think it is difficult to do the same as the asp.net repeater, specially i had problem to do the borders on the columns and lines on the repeateritem.

  13. d0rki3sh3 says:

    um. . . just wanted to let you know that I am using your robot shooting lasers while riding a unicorn as a background on my myspace page.

    better to seek forgiveness than to ask permission I always say!

    I gave you credit for it. ..

    :p

    Let me know if you want me to take it down. It’s pretty epic and I’d like to keep it. . . Sorry if I’ve stepped on any toes or anything!

  14. Josh Smith says:

    No worries about the image. I took it from somebody’s blog or web site somewhere.

