Advanced MVVM now available on Kindle Store in the UK

I just got some good news from Amazon.  Folks in the UK can now get my book, Advanced MVVM, from the Kindle store.   If you buy my book from Amazon’s Kindle store, you can read it on a variety of devices: the Kindle e-book reader, iPhone, iPad, your PC, and others.

Here’s the link: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Advanced-MVVM/dp/B0038KX9FW

Also, I have some other exciting news to share.  Team Mole has been very hard at work, creating Mole for Visual Studio 2010, the second generation of our popular debugger visualizer.  We’re getting close to the finish line.  We expect to have our product online, and ready to be purchased, within the next few weeks.  Mole 2010 has been in the works since February.  It’s turning out to be an amazing tool…we’re all very, very proud of it.  We can’t wait to release it!😀

11 Responses to Advanced MVVM now available on Kindle Store in the UK

  1. Luke says:

    Does this mean that Mole for VS2010 will be commercial only? That’s pretty sad news…

  2. Josh Smith says:

    Luke – Yes, that’s what it means. I don’t see why it’s sad. There’s nothing wrong with being compensated for your effort, or compensating others for their effort.

  3. Ryan says:

    I agree with Luke, very disappointing that this is not an open source project on CodePlex. The three of you have been working hard since February and I am sure the tool will be awesome but imagine what the community could do if the project was hosted someplace where we could all contribute.

    I was excited for a moment when I thought I might be able to get the new plugin through Extension Manager.

    Josh, there is nothing wrong with being compensated for your efforts and I wish you guys the best.

  4. Luke says:

    Of cause you are free to decide how to distribute your work. There’s nothing wrong with that. It just means that probably way less people will use it.

    I’m not saying that I wouldn’t buy it in general. But I would use it for my private development projects, which I currently don’t make any money with, so I cannot afford expensive tools and add-ons. ReSharper is cool too but I do not use it at home due to the price.

  5. Josh Smith says:

    Trust me, Luke. Mole is going to cost much, much less than ReSharper. We are going to charge a modest price for the tool that we’ve each worked on for hundreds of hours.

  6. Reid Peryam says:

    Hi Josh I couldn’t locate an email so I’ll just ask my question here with the thought you can choose to cull it from your site🙂

    Are you the same Josh Smith that taught a class for BU professor James Devlin at the Boston University Corporate Education Center back in 2005? I think so? If so you ate a bologna sandwich and Monster energy drink EVERY DAY for about 9 months! Your girlfriend at the time was also a developer and I remember you telling me a story that you witnessed a Boston Red Sox fan break a glass bottle over an opposing fan’s head outside of Fenway Park.

    Anyway if I have the wrong .Net developer Josh Smith who is a music grad and .net developer please excuse me! If this is the right Josh Smith please imagine my surprise to have made the connection today after reading an article you authored on MVVM. I work for a GIS company(www.spatialInfo.com) as a .net developer and am in the process of picking up WPF for the first time after years of server development.

    Please do send an email as response! I would really *love* to tell my new boss – yeah I know Josh Smith — we go waaaay back😉

    heard from Professor Devlin lately? Where are you living?

    hope all is well

    Reid Peryam

  7. Jerome Haltom says:

    I have a question regarding MVVM.

    So, I have a View and a ViewModel. I want to shield consumers of the View from the ViewModel. So, I have a public property on the View called Foo. Foo is however synchronized to a property Foo in the ViewModel. Two way is required. How is the best way to accomplish this? Obviously an answer is to use the code behind on the View to hook up to the VM’s change and the V’s property change and keep them in sync. I’d rather not do that.

    I tried to implement a set of synchronized attached properties… local.MulticastBinding.Value1={Binding …}, local.MulticastBinding.Value2={Binding ..}, etc. That actually works, except for one issue. If setting Value2 results in a change to the source of Value2, a recurse happens. I suppose I could make this smarter.

    But it feels wrong.

    I really am just trying to connect two properties.

  8. Chris Nicol says:

    Hey Josh,

    Really excited about Mole2010, and personally I would be willing to pay around the same price for ReSharper. These are the tools of our trade … plumbers, framers, electricians all spend thousands of dollars on their tools and a lot of them don’t get paid as well as we do. So it makes no sense to me when people/companies don’t upgrade or purchase the best tools around, regardless of cost.

    So again thank you for the work that you (and Karl & Andrew) have done and never feel bad about charging for it … most of us are more than happy to pay!

    Also, once Mole is done are you going to make any updates to Crack.NET?

  9. Josh Smith says:

    Thanks Chris! We hope to ship Mole in the next few weeks or so. Regarding Crack.NET, I haven’t thought about that thing in quite a while. I’ve got too many side projects.🙂

  10. Chris Nicol says:

    Understandable … I still can’t wrap my head around all that you manage to do … it’s humbling!

    Side note: are you heading to PDC this year?

  11. Josh Smith says:

    Not sure about PDC yet.

