I’ve gone Mac (will I ever come back?)

I couldn’t resist any longer.  I bought a Mac.

Fear not, I’m still madly in love with WPF and rather fond of Silverlight.  But let’s face it, Apple is doing very, very well these days.  Everyone and their grandmother has an iPhone or iPad or MacBook, etc.  For the sake of career growth, job security, skills development, not to mention a shiny new toy, I decided to take the plunge.  I’m really excited about learning Objective-C, Cocoa, CocoaTouch, MonoTouch, and all the rest.  It’s like Christmas morning for me!

My journey of  learning how to tell an Apple device what to do will be logged in my new blog called iJoshSmith.com.  If you’re interested in seeing what it takes for a WPF/SL/.NET dev to warp his mind into Appleness, check it out!

28 Responses to I’ve gone Mac (will I ever come back?)

  1. Phillip says:

    I still can’t get used to OSX after 6 years. Currently running OSX 10.6.4 in VMWare to do monotouch dev, but I just can’t stand OSX. It’s so easy to go from Windows to Ubuntu, just not OSX.

  2. Mike says:

    Now you have crossed to the dark side. I am very disappoint!

    I❤ WPF

  3. Josh Smith says:

    Hey Mike – It’s all good! Macs are our friends!🙂

  4. Anil says:

    Oh come on, what’s wrong with you guys😀

  5. Daniel says:

    I’m a software developer, and I made the transition to Mac OS X many years ago. I never looked back ! I use VMWare Fusion to run Windows machines for development projects that require it. The robust UNIX command line interface under Mac OS X means I don’t have to fight with crappy DOS or buggy Cygwin anymore. The Mac OS X user interface is mostly good, although not without its flaws (fair play to Windows 7 by the way, which now offers a decent windowing system). Apple OS and built-in software is far from perfect, but it improved my productivity from day-1, so for me it feels like a 100% positive overall experience. I tried Linux (Ubuntu) and became bored with time-wasting command line configuration (granted, the UI really makes a lot of things easier, but some things are just still a real PITA). Cheers, Dan

  6. Hi Josh,

    Welcome to the club🙂

    When I started learning Obj-C and Apple’s Cocoa two years ago, I was amazed by the way MVC is supported by the Cocoa framework and kinda wished that writing .Net GUI apps was as easy.

    That was until I read your article on MVVM and made the connection. I think you will be able to do just fine in Cocoa as its support for MVC is pretty darned close to WPF/MVVM.

    Just goes to show the power of the binding framework and the deep impact this has on developer acceptance.

    Cheers,
    Florian

  7. Josh Smith says:

    Thanks guys. I’m really excited to get my hands dirty!

  8. Prashant says:

    Hey Josh,

    I did get Macbook pro lately for very same reason that you mentioned here. I learnt lot of thing from your blog, hope your new “i” blog helps learn Apple stack too.

    Cheers,
    Prashant

  9. Josh Smith says:

    Hey thanks Prashant.🙂

  10. pingpong says:

    A big vote of no confidence to WP7 then?🙂

  11. Josh Smith says:

    I hope WP7 does great! Competition is a good thing.

  12. Sal says:

    Well, learning how to work with those technologies is fantastic but you really did not need an overpriced Mac for that. You could have done well with a Virtual Machine just as others.

    Macs are just overpriced PC’s, there is nothing they can do that a PC does not do.

    As for job security, mhhh, perhaps you went too far too soon? With the Apple model, I don’t think they will last for long. IMHO it is just a “fashionable” thing to have a Mac (or iPhone) these days. It will come to an end some day and, as a matter of fact, it already has started to happen for the iPhone with the Android.

    Time will tell. In any case, good luck! Anybody is entitled to do whatever they desire to do so go for it!

    As for me, I am too much of a MS fanboy to cross to the dark side.🙂

  13. Josh Smith says:

    I hear ya, Sal. The price definitely took me by surprise, but it wasn’t that big of a deal for me. Every developer I know who has a MacBook Pro also uses it to run Windows, and they all think it’s the best PC on the market. I am willing to test that theory first-hand.🙂

    As to your comment about Apple being a fad…I guess time will tell. Regardless, learning a new set of technologies, tools, and language is going to be so much fun that it will be worth it, regardless of Apple’s longterm prospects.

    Thanks,
    Josh

  14. Sam L. says:

    I am a .Net developer who just started iPhone development too, and I really like it. What I feared most was what I heard about the Objective-C language: it was supposedly an outdated and inefficient language, but that is simply not true. It’s a very powerful language. The syntax is strange at first but it becomes second nature very fast. Anything you can do in C# can be done in Objective-C too. With blocks you even have closures🙂

    At first I wanted to develop with Monotouch (changed my mind because of iOs terms of use restricting development with third-party tools back then) but in retrospective I’m happy to develop in Obj-C!

  15. Josh Smith says:

    Sam L. — That’s great to hear. This should be an interesting adventure…

  16. Sam L. says:

    One more thing; Macs can be pricey but I bought a Mac Mini for my iPhone development and am very happy of my purchase. It’s cheap (about 800$) and it works very well for software development.

  17. sacha says:

    Hey man, best of luck with that. I am still finding .NET have enough to keep me busy, though I would like to write some more useful frameworks, as that is what I like doing.

  18. Hamsassa says:

    thank u so much for this posts

  19. Thomas says:

    Being a WPF/SL developer, I’ll be very interested in hearing what you think of Apple’s platform. I’ve been tempted to look into it myself, but can never seem to find the time. Good luck!

  20. Kot says:

    Hey Josh, it’s interesting move. I always regarded Microsoft vs Apple platforms as:

    Microsoft: good tools for developers, programming languages have always something tasty to try and constantly developing, not so much care about customers

    Apple: make apps as polished and shiny as possible, tooling and languages are limited, but if you want to develop for the popular Apple product, you have to cope with it as developer

    …That’s why i stay at Microsoft side as developer🙂. Will be very interesting to read on your experience, so I’ll subscribe to your ijosh site too.
    And good luck!

  21. Mark says:

    Good move. Will follow your new adventures with interest.

  22. TinaTran30 says:

    Are you leaning to write iPhone apps or apps to run on Mac OS? What is your objective?

    Im wondering whether an WPF app can be developed by MonoTouch from scratch.

  23. Josh Smith says:

    TinaTran30,

    I’m going to learn Cocoa and CocoaTouch, which means desktop and mobile apps.

    Josh

  24. CyborgBrain says:

    How come your new blog has it’s own domain name but not this one?

    Are you leaving us behind the times?

  25. Zaki says:

    Hi Josh,

    I really like your idea of moving to mac. I have read your Advanced MVVM book and most of your blogs and interested and impressed on how you think. I always wanted to start developing on mac platform but could never spend enough time. Anyways, please keep us more updated on how you go with MAC development, I am keen to look in that area.

    Thanks
    Zaki

  26. Julian says:

    Hi Josh!
    I was thinking to buy a mac too and just like you for my career growth!. Keep us updated about your current development , love reading your articles! eheh

  27. Mauricio says:

    Good for you!🙂

    I did the same, bought a unibody macbook pro 17″, last year. Loved the lit keyboard, but really started to feel like I couldn’t really do much. Maybe I did not give it enough time, maybe I did not have much time to give. I attempted to have a windows install and VS, SQL and thoise everyday bread and butter apps we use, but had a lot of trouble.After a while I returned the Mac and bought this Vaio I am typing on right now. All goddies in just like we are used to. Bottom line: Amazing box, seamless UX, not best for .NET devs.

  28. Mauricio says:

    Forgot to mention. My name is Stan, your biggest fan!🙂 Never stop, Josh.

