Advanced MVVM is now available in paperback

I have had quite a few people say that they want to print my Advanced MVVM e-book.  The DRM protected PDF that you get when you buy the e-book does not allow itself to be printed, as per the rules of Lulu (the online publisher).  So, to help people read the book in the format that they want, I made it possible to buy a hard copy of the book.  You can get the paperback version here.

I am also in the process of making Advanced MVVM available for the Kindle e-reader.  I will blog about it once Amazon approves my book and makes it available online.

20 Responses to Advanced MVVM is now available in paperback

  1. Joe says:

    Thanks for mentioning the Kindle. Looking forward to it.

  2. Hi Josh,

    Thanks for the article – I must say having bent over my laptop for the last 2 hours it would have been nice to print out as it kind of makes it awkward.

    One thing I noticed which made me think was your ICommand implementation – I use the same approach and kind of questioned the whole:-

    public ICommand MyCommand
    {
    get {return new RelayCommand(…);}
    }

    As I usually set the command’s up in a constructor where as you’re returning a new object each time. You then go on to say it only get’s called once… so I guess – just checking which is better? Small question really….

    Otherewise fantastic as usual – I really recommend WPF developers to read this through at least twice – it’s a great journey in to how things fit together in WPF without getting too complex!

    One thing I’d love to pick you’re brains on is methods to access VM’s in ValueConvertors but we can take that off line if you can ping me an address. I saw you’re article on this and have some ideas too.

    Looking forward to the next installment!

    Regards,

    Andrew

  3. Douglas says:

    Ugh. Ordered the ebook and when I try to download, all I get is a “URLLink.acsm”. No pdf.

  4. Ian Oakes says:

    Thanks Josh, just purchased the paper copy, I look foraward to reading it.

  5. Josh Smith says:

    @Andrew – The VM returns a new command from its property getter because I know that the UI is only going to bind to it once. In a less well-defined scenario, this assumption cannot be made. Thanks for the kind words.

    @Douglas – The ACSM file is used by the Adobe Digital Editions e-book reader application. You have to install that app and register it on your machine, and then double-click the ACSM file.

    @Ian – Thank you! Have a great day.

  6. Hi Josh,
    If we’ve already bought the digital edition can we get a discount on the printable version?
    Kind regards,
    Tom

  7. Josh Smith says:

    I looked into it, Tom. I’m not able to give discounts/coupons for items on Lulu. Sorry!

  8. […] Advanced MVVM is now available in paperback (Josh Smith) […]

  9. MojoFilter says:

    Spectacular. I’ll be on board for a Kindle edition when it’s available.

  10. Josh Smith says:

    Glad to hear it, MojoFilter. Stay tuned…

  11. bastien says:

    Hello Josh,

    I have read the content table and ask myself why you did a game instead of a LOB ?

    And I would like to have read about stuff like getting rid of losing visual state with datatemplates… just those typical wpf problems.

    Might I assume the “Stay tuned…” gives us hope?

  12. Josh Smith says:

    Bastien,

    I chose to write the book about a game because I wrote the game and then decided to write the book. 🙂

    I thought about this point, and realized that there are already many blog posts and articles about LOB apps. I thought it would be fun to have an MVVM book about something other than an LOB app. The concepts covered in the book are all applicable in LOB apps.

    Josh

  13. Rob says:

    Hi Josh, I just received my hard copy of the book, and it’s great. Unfortunately, there are no page numbers, which renders the table of contents rather useless! I don’t know if this is an issue with Lulu, but I figured I’d let you know.

    Thanks!

    Rob

  14. Josh Smith says:

    Thanks Rob. I noticed that oversight when I got my book yesterday. Unfortunately I don’t see any way to fix it on Lulu. Rookie mistake. 😦

    Sorry about that!

    Josh

  15. Mike says:

    I think that is the whole point of Lulu, they’re great. Isn’t direct publishing supposed to allow corrections to order, as books are not pre-stocked?

    I was going to buy the print until I read Rob’s comment. Can you keep us posted please?

    TIA

  16. Josh Smith says:

    Mike,

    I looked into it. I need to tear down the “project” on Lulu that makes my hardcopy available, and create a new one if I want to modify the book. Not sure why they do it that way. I’ll take care of adding the page numbers soon and let you all know via a new blog post.

    Thanks,
    Josh

  17. Daizen says:

    Hey, Josh… How have you been?
    I want your book, but do they ship the paper version to Japan ?

    Thanks,
    Daizen

  18. Josh Smith says:

    Daizen, I believe Lulu will ship a paperback copy of the book to anywhere in the world.
    Josh

  19. Daizen says:

    Thanks for the reply.
    I’ll get one 🙂

    Daizen