My alter ego published an iPhone app

I have been learning about iPhone development over the past few months, and enjoying it very much. The culmination of my learning so far is an app called Two Letters which is now available in the App Store. It’s a game that helps you learn and memorize the two-letter words used in Scrabble and crossword puzzles.

Two Letters can be found here: http://itunes.apple.com/app/two-letters/id404274803

Have a great day!

6 Responses to My alter ego published an iPhone app

  1. Oleg says:

    So, unavoidable question then:) How this experience compares to WPF story?

  2. Josh Smith says:

    It’s much more code-focused, Oleg. WPF is great because the UI design is largely kept out of the code. With the iPhone, you have the Interface Builder tool to drag-drop UIs together, but most non-trivial customizations must be done in code. There’s no equivalent to XAML that you use when working with CocoaTouch.

    Other than that, having to be very careful about memory management all the time is a new challenge. Sure you must also be aware of memory management even if you have a garbage collector, but not to the same degree as when you are manually managing it.

    All in all, it was a good experience and I think Objective-C, CocoaTouch, Xcode, and Interface Builder are good tools for the job. Apple’s developer story is not as decadent as Microsoft’s, but there’s a certain charm in “roughing it.” 🙂

    Josh

  3. varun says:

    It is nice to see you in apple app development.
    I request you to come up with an article summarizing your ideas and experiences when you developed “2 letters” app by giving a kickstart on iPhone Development focusing on resources needed and methodology involved wrt coding.
    Its my sincere request and hope would be helpful for novice iphone app developers like me.

    Thanks in advance.

  4. Connor says:

    Hi Josh,

    Congrats on making the plunge! I’m actually a student looking to go from Web Dev -> iOS (although I’ve “been a Mac” my whole life – just never developed for it). I wanted to see if there were any resources you would highly recommend? Great if they’re great resources – best if they’re great and free resources (seeing I’m a student).

    Glad to hear your success and I’ve enjoyed learning from you on iJoshSmith!

  5. Josh Smith says:

    @varun – Thanks for the feedback. I’ll keep that in mind.

    @Connor – A great free resource for learning iOS programming, amongst other things, is stackoverflow.com. That site seems to attract a lot of experts who answer questions. I referred to StackOverflow a lot while working on my Two Letters app.

  6. Alex says:

    hi
    I am a WPF developer and thinking of writing an iphone app..Shouldn’t I use HTML5 to create OOB apps on iphone?Whats better?
    Regards.