Master WPF on your iPhone

After being obsessed with WPF for so many years, I can’t just forget about it. Even though my focus is now on iOS development, I still think that WPF is an awesome platform. That’s why I wrote an iPhone app named Master WPF. It contains 500 questions, spread across 28 topics, that I painstakingly wrote, organized, and proofread until my eyes bled. The questions will help any WPF developer sharpen their skills.

It’s for WPF noobs, gurus, and everyone in between.

Master WPF on your iPhone or iPod Touch

Master WPF on your iPhone or iPod Touch

You can download Master WPF for free on your iPhone or iPod Touch, running iOS 5 or greater. The app comes with 15 free questions so that you can try it out. If you decide that you want to master WPF with my app, you can make a small in-app purchase to unlock all 500 questions.

Think of it as a donation to a recovering WPF addict.

Screenshots of Master WPF

Screenshots of Master WPF

For more info about Master WPF, please check out http://masterwpf.com

13 Responses to Master WPF on your iPhone

  1. Great idea, but I don’t have an iPhone and don’t plan to buy one… any chance you will port the app to other mobile platforms?

  2. Josh Smith says:

    Thomas,

    I knew this request was coming. 🙂 I’m curious to see which platforms people would like me to port Master WPF to. Android? WP7? A version that targets the iPad?

    Thanks,
    Josh

  3. Jordan Nolan says:

    Love it, I’m using it on my iPad!

  4. Josh Smith says:

    Thanks Jordan! The version I just released (v1) will work on iPad but the UI was not designed for that resolution. It will just display the app at the iPhone size, and optionally scale it to fill the screen. If I get enough requests for an iPad version, I’ll definitely consider it.

    Josh

  5. Josh,
    I’m currently using Android, and I think it’s the most popular alternative to iPhone… A WP7 version would be nice too, but there aren’t many users yet.

  6. Josh Smith says:

    Thomas,
    I was thinking about Android, too. That seems like the most reasonable choice. But, after having looked into the Android development world, and seeing how “rough around the edges” it is, I’m not sure yet. If enough people ask for it, I probably will take the plunge.

    Josh

  7. Lance says:

    Slightly off topic, but it would be great to hear your impressions of iOS and how WPF compares, and do you think Windows 8 has a chance to compete.

  8. spivonious says:

    I agree with Lance. After developing for iOS for a while now, how does Apple’s dev ecosystem and XCode compare to MS and VisualStudio?

  9. Josh Smith says:

    @Lance and @Spivonious: Comparing iOS development with WPF development is not easy. So many aspects of those them are different. The UI platforms are different (CocoaTouch vs WPF). The languages I use are different (Objective-C vs C#). The design patterns I use are different (MVC vs MVVM). The IDEs are different (Xcode vs VS). And on, and on, and on.

    One thing I can say for sure at this time is this: developing apps for iOS can be just as productive and fun as developing them for WPF. The tools Apple provides take some getting used to, for a VS user. Once you get used to their tools, language, lingo, etc. it’s a great way to write software. It took me about one year to get up to speed, where I’m at the point of being what I consider an iOS developer worth hiring.

    I think that to properly answer this question, I need to think about it for a while, and write up a proper blog post (not a comment like this one). Stay tuned…

    Thanks,
    Josh

  10. Lance says:

    That blog post would be very interesting. Looking forward to it.

  11. Eric Hill says:

    First, you have to decide if WPF is even still relevant, which is unclear given the push to WinRT and the fact that the desktop application development platform seems to be in mothballs. But, if WPF is still relevant, then I would install a WP7 app of this.

    Eric

  12. Josh Smith says:

    Eric,

    I guess it depends on how you define the term “relevant.” To me, a programming platform like WPF is relevant if there is money to be made by its practitioners. In that sense, WPF is far, far more relevant at this time than WinRT. WPF might not be sexy and cool now, but that doesn’t mean it’s irrelevant. Quite the opposite, in my mind.

    Josh

  13. Josh Smith says:

    @Lance and @Spivonious: I published a post that compares iOS and WPF programming. Thanks for the blog post idea!

    http://t.co/IyI4PhsS

    Josh